Nationalists.

I was told by a few european friends that I am the only nationalist they like. Immediately I thought, is being a nationalist a bad thing? I have always been proud of it! We, Basque people, are proud of being nationalists. So what is it to be a nationalist?

According to my dictionary, a nationalist is:

  • a person who advocates political independence for a country.
  • a person with strong patriotic feelings, especially one who believes in the superiority of their country over others.

I do agree with the first definition, and I also have strong patriotic feelings, although I do not feel superior to anyone. So, is this last point which gives nationalists the bad reputation?

I personally believe that it is not a bad thing to be proud of one’s country, support it and feel devotion for it. I do feel these things. However, and kind of surprisingly for myself, I feel like this is not the common rule among several europeans. I find it weird, they find me weird… it’s the beauty of diversity.

Perhaps it’s a Basque thing, or a minority thing, or even a pro-independence thing. I don’t know. I just realised that there are quite a few non-nationalists. It’s not a very common thing in my land.

Leave a Reply

